top of page
Kevin Hufnagel

Who is my brother?

Who is my Brother?


Awaken


Unsealing my frail eyes

I see the dormant world


A wasted heap of Earth

Free from souls but for one


A stranger beside me

Revolting Otherness


I pray to piercing light

From desperation’s night


Unto thirsting Unknown

“See into me, Unseen


Let clouded sight now see

It’s own limitation”


Radical stringency 

Structured relationships


Blood thicker than Water

Diluted by time’s flow


Remaining so unsure

Of relational fealty


Rendered fetid via

Selfish expectations


Familial, Sanguine

River once flowing free


Coagulated now

By selfish veins of thought



Constricted in concord

Obstructed in outlook


By this ultimate truth -

I suffer and I thirst


Should pain cease, veins unwind

And this river flow free


I will have failed to see,

I will have failed to love


Since this blood will not leave

Its own self serving world


My brother and sister

Existing to please me


Oh predatory pride!

Asphyxiating all


Can liberty exist

In veins so encircled?


Perhaps in shattering

Capillaries opened


Blood poured forth, drained from flesh

Negating selfish thirst


Through ichorous freedom

We mount as Icarus


Exsanguinated flight

Yet bloodless wings falter


In human blood, arrogance,

Relationships of use


In bloodless lives, despair

We plummet to the sea



Weakened humanity

So caught in the self’s cage.


From dilemma’s prison

Of arrogance or despair


We pray unto the Sun

“Infuse into our veins


Divine Ichor of Life

From Nameless Deity”


Awaken


I am where I began

This cursed heap of Earth


The lowly Other still stands

Now bearing open veins


I am ashamed to see

I, like him, am exposed


Between our opened veins

New blood dances, alive


It is dull and human

Yet violent, thirsting, alive


Inhuman, borderless

A maddening old blood


Commanding submission

Unto a jealous love


It demands that I gaze

Upon the reviled


Shared blood, shared agony

How can I curse myself?


My own humanity?

Ichor most sacred calls


It ravages and cries

“He holds what you have lost


See yourself in his eyes”

I gaze, I see, I weep


A brother beside me

Entrancing Otherness

Recent Posts

See All

He Woke Me Up

He woke me up. I’d been drinking myself to sleep and numbing myself till morning, And I lost myself in the night. Yet He woke me up. He...

Litany for My Lack of Trust

From restless busyness, deliver me, Jesus. From the fear of losing control, deliver me, Jesus. From a sense of urgency, deliver me,...

Comentários


bottom of page