top of page
Matthew Lee

The Seraphic Surrender

Truly thy love doth brightly shine,

Wherein thou won the crown of virtue divine!

Teach me, O Francis, seraphic brother!

In poverty and obedience, call me hither!


Wilt thy love be found in mercies tender,

With the Holy Wounds of Love, most dear,

Imprinted deeply, calling one and all,

To bear the Sacred Wounds in whole!


The oath, sworn to God Most High,

To bear my wounds, thereto solace lie,

With a thornless rose, I shall arise,

Confiding in thee, as my Dark Night flies!


The Hour is nigh, the Cross raised high,

In Calvary’s ascent, death upward springs,

In one oblation, in all glory and honor,

With thy seraphic wings, a psalter will echo.


All laud to God the Father be;

All praise, Eternal Son, to thee;

All glory, as is ever meet,

To God the Holy Paraclete.


Amen.

Recent Posts

See All

He Woke Me Up

He woke me up. I’d been drinking myself to sleep and numbing myself till morning, And I lost myself in the night. Yet He woke me up. He...

Litany for My Lack of Trust

From restless busyness, deliver me, Jesus. From the fear of losing control, deliver me, Jesus. From a sense of urgency, deliver me,...

Comments


bottom of page