top of page
Fr. Nathan Harburg

The Beauty Beneath

“What no eye has seen, nor ear heard,

nor the heart of man imagined,

what God has prepared for those who love him” (1 Cor. 2:9)

*********

Each painting that soothes us

And tear-springing tune

Each novel that moves us

Each j’wel finely hewn


Each smile we delight in

And animal cute

Each redwood of grandeur

Each color-splashed fruit


Each sunset fantastic

And moonrise of glory

Each mountain majestic

Tells but half the story


Each time we catch sight of

Some marvel and stare

Each thing that enchants us

So gorgeous, so fair


We find that it wounds us

It leaves us still yearning

A presence, yet absence

That quells not the churning


All visions eye-drenching

Explode then expire

Our heart’s thirst unquenching

Our souls more require


Beneath such brief beauties

Beneath, yet above

The Bridegroom-Creator

Soft-whispers His love


With gifts He pursues us

This Lover untiring

With loveliness woos us (cf. Song of Songs)

Toward joy unexpiring

Recent Posts

See All

He Woke Me Up

He woke me up. I’d been drinking myself to sleep and numbing myself till morning, And I lost myself in the night. Yet He woke me up. He...

Litany for My Lack of Trust

From restless busyness, deliver me, Jesus. From the fear of losing control, deliver me, Jesus. From a sense of urgency, deliver me,...

Comments


bottom of page