top of page
Fr. Nathan Harburg

Rabbi, I Want To See

"Jesus stopped and said, ‘call him.’ So they called to the blind man, ‘Cheer up! On your feet! He’s calling you.’ Throwing his cloak aside, he jumped to his feet and came to Jesus. ‘What do you want me to do for you?’ Jesus asked him. The blind man said, ‘Rabbi, I want to see.’ ‘Go,’ said Jesus, ‘your faith has healed you.’ Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus along the road.” (Mark 10:49-52 NIV)



***


“Rabbi, I want to see…”  (Mark 10:51)


To see You, “Risen One,” each spring; each thing arising new

The season a rich prophecy of heaven’s spring eternal

Its death and rising cycles call to mind Your rising too (Rom 1)

To bear much fruit for God, I’ll die with You, a falling kernel (Jn 12:24)


“Rabbi, I want to see…” 


To see You, “Great Creator,” in the lightning, quake and fire

Yet knowing that Elijah heard You rather in the hush (1 Kgs 19:11)

In every soaring, splashing, crawling creature I admire (Gen 1)

Each mesa, forest, flashing mount, broad plain, and jungle lush


“Rabbi, I want to see…”


To see You, “This world’s Light,” in every sunset, star, and sunrise (Jn 8:12)

You comfort, warm, and guide through them, and snuff the darkness drear (Jn 1:5)

Your children You call light to fight the creeping darkness likewise (Mt 5:14)

Through mercy that, to heart and eye, will make Your Light appear


“Rabbi, I want to see…”


To see You in all faces; in all places; in the least (Mt 25:40)

Especially the suffering, oppressed, unborn, and poor

To seek You and adore You in my own heart without cease

To find You in each victim crushed by famine, draught, and war


Rabbi, I want to see…”


To see You, “Bridegroom of the Church,” when spouses love each other

Their faithful, free and fruitful love reflects a holy Source (Eph 5:32)

Each marriage brings to mind Your vows to me, which none can smother

“…til death”, and yet beyond! To love You not: life’s sole remorse


Rabbi, I want to see…”


To see You, Icon of the Father, in both dads and pastors (Jn 14:9)

Their gentleness, encouragement, correction, and direction

Protection from the father of all lies; from sin’s disasters

You father us through Godly men! Their care is Your affection


“Rabbi, I want to see…”


To see You, “Healer,” as I pray for health in Jesus’ Name (Jn 14:13)

Foreseeing heaven’s healing of all tears and bitter illness (Rev 21:4)

Through doctors, nurses, therapists, Your healing we acclaim

Through sacraments, and scripture; don’t forget the balm of stillness


“Rabbi, I want to see…”


To see You, “Jesus,” “God’s Salvation,” as I battle sin (Mt 1:21)

When on Your Holy Name I call, Your strength could not come quicker (Phil 4:13)

And if I lose a skirmish, absolution peace will win

Allowing me to hear my Savior through Your Church’s vicar


“Rabbi, I want to see…”


To see You, “Bread of Life,” upon the altar-table spread (Jn 6, Ps 23)

“Unbloody Sacrifice” and foretaste of the feast of heaven (Lk 22:20)

Each Eucharist a miracle maintaining souls well-fed

Like hearty “Lembas bread” of lore, sustaining us as “leaven” (J.R.R. Tolkien, Lord of the Rings; Mt 13:33)






Recent Posts

See All

He Woke Me Up

He woke me up. I’d been drinking myself to sleep and numbing myself till morning, And I lost myself in the night. Yet He woke me up. He...

Litany for My Lack of Trust

From restless busyness, deliver me, Jesus. From the fear of losing control, deliver me, Jesus. From a sense of urgency, deliver me,...

Comments


bottom of page