top of page
Bailey Burke

Litany for My Lack of Trust

From restless busyness, deliver me, Jesus.

From the fear of losing control, deliver me, Jesus. 

From a sense of urgency, deliver me, Jesus. 

From impatience, deliver me, Jesus. 

From hurry, deliver me, Jesus. 

From the fear of silence, deliver me, Jesus. 

From self-hatred, deliver me, Jesus. 

From escapism, deliver me, Jesus. 

From the sin of pride, deliver me, Jesus. 

From self-righteousness, deliver me, Jesus. 

From self-pity, deliver me, Jesus. 

From neglect of my own body, deliver me, Jesus. 


That you want to hold me in your arms, Lord, teach me how to trust. 

That nothing I do can change your love for me, Lord, teach me how to trust. 

That you want me to rest, Lord, teach me how to trust. 

That you will provide for me, Lord, teach me how to trust. 

That you love me, Lord, teach me how to trust. 

That you see me as beautiful and beloved, Lord, teach me how to trust. 

That you want to make me new, Lord, teach me how to trust. 

That you will satisfy the needs and desires you have given me, if not in this life, 

then in the next, Lord, teach me how to trust. 

Recent Posts

See All

He Woke Me Up

He woke me up. I’d been drinking myself to sleep and numbing myself till morning, And I lost myself in the night. Yet He woke me up. He...

Birdsong

A bird sings at dawn, its sweet tune carried by the morning breeze. To those who will listen, and gently to those who fear remembering....

1 Comment


Nathan Harburg
Nathan Harburg
Apr 18

I love this and will share it

Like
bottom of page