top of page
Bailey Burke

Hungry

I am hungry. 

Hungry to squeeze the truth,

the beauty, and 

the goodness

out of life. 


Hungry

to pick out every seed 

and morsel,

life a juicy and overripe

pomegranate begging

for me 

to unravel it. 


I am hungry 

for a deeper love,

for a drink 

of living water that will satisfy  

my aching,

restless

heart.


I am hungry

for freedom,

for the grace and the ability 

to just be


I am hungry

to be

Me,

whatever that means,

whoever that is. 


I am hungry  

for Heaven,

for the manna

that will last 

more than a moment. 



How long must I fast? 



I am hungry

for the bridegroom 

to return

to fill my open,

empty

hands with His presence.


I am hungry

for Abundant Life,

for joy that never ends,

for justice,

for peace, 

for eternity. 


Recent Posts

See All

He Woke Me Up

He woke me up. I’d been drinking myself to sleep and numbing myself till morning, And I lost myself in the night. Yet He woke me up. He...

Litany for My Lack of Trust

From restless busyness, deliver me, Jesus. From the fear of losing control, deliver me, Jesus. From a sense of urgency, deliver me,...

Comments


bottom of page