top of page
Sommer Motley

Holy Day

A holy day comes like the breath of wind,

It washes over the dry and dead bits,

Stirring up what has been laid to to grow.

Renewal comes in the great presence of our sovereign God,

It whispers living joy into our hearts,

Posturing us to receive His gleeful blessing.

He comes to dwell in His delighted creation,

His chosen people and beloved.

We come expectant and waiting on His hand to deliver faithful promises,

Our hearts yearn to reset in His present peace,

To wash our hands of the days’ toil.

Birds chirping and wedding bells a ringin’,

We gather to witness one of God’s greatest gifts to us,

The I Dos and to love ‘till death do us part,

The well wishes and union to one faithful flesh.

As they profess their love through spoken words,

Their souls hum in unity,

Families gather to hold tight to the rope that binds them,

And loop in another.

Laughter, grace and stories mark this good ol’ day,

As God sprinkles His glory for all to see.

He paints the light blue sky with tints of blush and orange,

The smell of humble donkeys mixed with wildflowers tickles my nose,

Grass blades brush my shadowed feet as we turn and dance in the dust.

Celebration and shouts of joyful noise,

Dancing amongst brothers and sisters old and new,

A family of Christ soaking in Holy joy.

And when the sun dips below the trees, the stars twinkling above us,

A tunnel of light and loved ones sends off the happy couple,

Passing down the rolling hill, waving to the perfect scene God has set,

Life together, finally, begins.

Recent Posts

See All

He Woke Me Up

He woke me up. I’d been drinking myself to sleep and numbing myself till morning, And I lost myself in the night. Yet He woke me up. He...

Litany for My Lack of Trust

From restless busyness, deliver me, Jesus. From the fear of losing control, deliver me, Jesus. From a sense of urgency, deliver me,...

Comments


bottom of page