top of page
Jadon Sterken

A Letter to God

Dear God,

When I grow up, I want to be a grace-filled vessel of love. 

In the purest sense of the word, like the humble light that welcomes you home. 

Weary, but full. When I grow up, I want to be a friend. 

In the way I open my arms, to the hurting, hungry, and whole. 

To know you’re not alone.

 When I grow up I want to be an artist. Constantly searching, disrupting, creating. 

Looking, for more than beauty. The singularity of truth. 

When I grow up I want to be an optimist. Shamelessly sure. 

Confident in one conviction: the Father’s love is strong, and I am His beloved child.

But why wait to “grow up?”

 Living in the light, lifted by His might, here and now is the choice. 

To fight the good fight. Therefore I choose. To abide in His grace. 

Living each day, the Word as my base. Armed to the axon, electric life fills the space. 

My body His temple, as if omnipresence could be encased. 

Thank you God, for this day. This day where I choose, to run the race. 

Honor and praise and honor and praise. 

Ever-present, persistent grace. Loving and living, your power is great. 

Kill every sin, with your love replace.

 Thanking with thought, thinking first to thank. 

But let it be more than a thought to thank. 

Let my body be used, testifying to grace. 

Freedom is found, faithfulness displayed. 

For now, let me rest. Let me sit in your peace. 

Abide in your truth. Be filled with your face. 

Let it be all. All I seek, all I praise. 

All that I want, hope, and dream, in this quickly moving space. 

Sitting in your peace is good. And your face is great. 

Greatly to be praised.


Sincerely,

Jadon

Recent Posts

See All

Litany for My Lack of Trust

From restless busyness, deliver me, Jesus. From the fear of losing control, deliver me, Jesus. From a sense of urgency, deliver me,...

Oh, To Be a Leaf

Of all the little creatures of this world that I might compare myself to, I am most certainly a worm. In my smallness and shortcomings,...

Comments


bottom of page